433mhz transparent wireless data module

yamato96

need help chosing logic level on a HF-TR 433mhz order.

TTL or RS232 ? . Im a newbie in electronics just exploring picaxe and arduino world.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Normally the best choice would be - TTL if connected to a PICAXE, RS232 if connected to a PC.

You can use either but it can make the interfacing and getting the voltage levels correct more complicated.

Hooter

I am playing with the Hope HM-TR module at the moment
www.hoperf.com/pro/HM-TR.html.
They are configured from the PC via RS232 and you can chose whether you want to use the 232 or TTL version when you purchase them. They are as simple as using the serin and serout command for communicating with picaxes.
Hooter

BeanieBots

Probably worth checking what levels your PC puts out.
If it's a laptop, chances are it's 5v logic levels.

Personally, I'd go for TTL. It would be much easier to interface to PICAXE and if you need 232 levels just for PC configuration then it should be possible with just a few resistors (and maybe a diode).
One thing to check is if the TTL version requires inversion. If it does, PICAXE interface will still be simple but connection to a PC would require inversion. It's quite easy to make a TTL/232 interface (MAX232) if you get the TTL version and need inverted 232 for your PC.

moxhamj

Hooter is our resident "Hope" expert, but just reading the specs I suspect it is going to be easier to program from the computer than from a computer to a picaxe to the device, so that means RS232. You can do a formal RS232 to TTL translation with a single chip called a MAX232. These vary in price between $1 and $7 - you can get 10 of them for $10 including shipping from http://stores.ebay.com.au/Thai-Shop-Etc