Wireless

cooldude4u2no

I been racking my brain over wireless communication. I cant seem to find a good tutorial on it either. But im trying to figure out how to send commands from a PC to another device wirelessly. Like for example: "80". When the device receives this is will display 80 on the sceen and then store the variable. With my code however, it seems its only receiving the first character which is "8". Im using two Xbee Series 1 Modules operating at 9600 baud.

Here is what i have.

Receiver:
Code:
#NO_DATA
#NO_TABLE

Main:
Serin B.6, T9600_8, ($55, $55), B0 
let b8 = b0
serout B.0, t9600_8, ("?f") 'LCD Clear Screen
pause 100
serout B.0, t9600_8, (#B0) '
goto main
Transmitter Connected to PC:
Code:
#no_DATA
#NO_TABLE

main:
serin C.3, N9600_8, b0 'From PC using PicAxe Terminal
serout C.1, T9600_8, ($55,$55, b0) 'To Xbee
goto main
Please forgive if the code is sloppy. Im a complete newb to picaxe and just trying to learn it. Maybe complete wrong approach?

Chavaquiah

The receiving program reads one character and then takes some time to display it on the screen, before getting ready to accept the next transmission. The sender doesn't seem to wait at all between characters. Perhaps the second character is lost while the receiver is dealing with the display?

You should probably try first to send something like a fixed string and only later start passing commands from the computer. Easier to debug that way.

Also, if you know in advance how many characters a command will have, why have each byte sent separately? You could send two (or more) bytes at once...

russbow

Isn't he suggesting that, expecting say a value of 80, he actually receives 8.

Can't be missed bytes. He is only sending two qualifiers and the variable b0.
He is receiving two qualifiers and a value assigned to b0.

I once had a problem of missing the first byte of a series that was caused by my choice of qualifier matching the byte expected.

Changing qualifier values cured it.