Wireless Reciever voltage drop

asagohan

Hi. I have been playing around with the RXB1 and TXC1 wireless receiver and transmitter from Jaycar. I have also made a program to send a signal to my picaxe to switch on the motors etc. The program definitely works because when I have the serial cable from my computer directly connected to the picaxe input it will do what it is supposed to. Normally if I just have the receiver connected to 5V (and not connected to the picaxe) it can receive signals and the voltage between the receiver ground and data goes up to about 4V (which should be a logic 1). However, as soon as I plug the data pin on the receiver into the picaxe input and the ground from the receiver into the picaxe ground the voltage level between ground and data on the receiver goes right down to 0.12V (which is nowhere near a logic 1).

Does anyone know what is causing this and how to fix it? I am not an expert at electronics or anything so it is probably something stupid that I have missed.

premelec

Note that some pins on PICAXEs can be used as outputs or inputs and when the pin is set as and output and LOW it will draw a bunch of current... Your program needs to set the pin being used as an input... if it is indeed a dual purpose pin... data not given in your post. Check the manual... good luck...

asagohan

Didnt work

Thanks for the advice.
But aren't all dual pins defaulted to inputs when the picaxe is reset? I haven't set them to outputs at any point. I tried what you suggested and went "let dirsc = %00000000 ' make all pins inputs" but it didn't change anything.

By the way I am using a 28X1 and digital in 1 (picaxe pin 12) as the input. I am doing "serin 1,T2400, command" (where command is just an integer between 1 and 6) to receive the signal.

There is also 5.1V between the ground and Vcc of the receiver (the ground and Vcc are connected to the picaxe).

Last edited:

westaust55

voltage drop