VB and picaxe?

sciguy77

Hi,

I'm trying to make an LED connected to a picaxe turn on when a button is clicked in Visual Basic. I have the LED hooked up, but now I have no Idea how to get the VB button to talk to the picaxe. Any pointers?

Thanks

sciguy77

this is the exact instructable I was looking at before. I'm looking for some more bare bones simplified code like when button1 pressed high 1 low 2 or whatever. Can you give me a simpler example?

Sorry, I'm a beginner. :)

moxhamj

Break it down into components. In vb.net, add a button and a label. Change the label text when you click the button.

If that works, then add some code to send a byte out the serial port when you click the button.

On the picaxe side, write some code to flash a led.

Then change the serial line so it goes to a different pin (via the same 10k/22k network)

Then write some code to listen to that pin until your byte arrives. Then flash the led when this happens.

Do you have vb6 or vb.net?

sciguy77

Uh, yeah, its the whole sending/receiving bytes that I don't get. Some simpler sample code would really be helpful if its not too much trouble.

moxhamj

so this also works the other way around? displaying variables from a picaxe?

Yes, it does. You can send data to a picaxe from vb.net and get data back. But it is a little complicated to set up.

Uh, yeah, its the whole sending/receiving bytes that I don't get

Ok, lets go back one step further.

Code:
b0=65
for b1=1 to 10
  debug
  pause 1000
next b1
Try running that. The picaxe debug will show the variables.

I don't know which picaxe chip you have, but assuming it is an O8M, put a led on physical pin 7 (output 0) and a 1k resistor to ground. Run that program again and the led should flash once a second. This led will be useful to see if data is going from the picaxe to the PC.

Next try
Code:
main:
  serout 0,N2400,("A")
  pause 1000
goto main