using picaxe for commercial projects

deneve

Although I am a teacher wanting to use Picaxe in my school I think I might be able to use the system for commercial projects too. Can I program a chip for embedding and sell the system. Are there any restrictions on me doing this

Dippy

I suspect only Technical can give you a definitve answer, but I will bet 10p that you will get responses including the words "mission critical" and/or "life support".

deneve

Dippy. What do you mean by mission critical and life support? Sorry I'm a bit slow and new to picaxe. Have I missed something?

Rickharris

This has been discussed before and the general principles seem to be - you can use the picaxe in a comercial system, i.e. selling it on as part of a further development, BUT there are strong safety issues about using the picaxe system in a safety critical situation where there would be no liability or responsibility on Rev Ed

I am sure they wouls phrase this in a more legal manner and what I post in no way represents their policy or intent but is my personal opinion.

manuka

Quite OK, but as well as issues mentioned above keep in mind that bringing a commercial electronic product to market may involve considerable <b>&quot;compliance&quot; </b> costs! Best start small &amp; get a feel for such hassles &amp; the agressive competition.

Some of the best commercial Picaxe applications have been local one offs, where a client specifically requests you come up with a solution that he'll pay going rates for.