Using a variable resistor to control PWM mark/space ratio.

Videostar

Hi

I'm new to PICAXE but I would like to use one for a project to control 1, 2 or 4 high power motors (up to 20Amps each at 24V). I originally intended to use a PIC16C71 because a) I have some and b) I have the basic circuit and software, as published in PIC Cookbook Vol 1.

Having "roughed out" the circuit, I started to look through my supplier websites to find FETs that will handle the power. During my search on the Rapid Electronics site (in UK) I found the PICAXE-18 project PCBs, both standard and high power versions and all they require is a PICAXE 18M2 and the relevant software to make them work. These PCBs will save me the trouble of designing my own, not to mention the extra cost of making them.

Now to my problem - I have looked at the manuals for these and the 18M2 and can see roughly how to read the 10k variable resistor (I think) and I suspect I know how to vary the PWM out - BUT - I cannot get my head around how to control the PWM mark/space output ratio with the variable resistor. Can anyone help with the software ?

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member
...to control 1, 2 or 4 high power motors (up to 20Amps each at 24V)....These PCBs will save me the trouble of designing my own, not to mention the extra cost of making them....
Welcome to the forum. Unfortunately the PCBs mentioned will be smelling bad as they melt at 4 x 24V, 20A !

geoff07

Assuming you fix the hardware problem:

- to set the PWM m/s ratio you need a number scaled according to the PWM settings you plan to use.
- a potentiometer could provide you with a variable dc voltage, which can be read by an ADC and thus create a number 0-255 or 0-1023
- scale the ADC output into the number range you need for the PWM statement, and apply
- keep rereading the ADC and adjusting the PWM, and the pot will control the speed
- the scaling does not have to be linear