Transceiver ?

cooldude4u2no

Hello, im new to picaxe only been playing around with it, but have a very good knowledge with electronics. I was curious if someone could point me the right direction as to a RF transceiver that i could use with picaxe without spending a ton of money (Since this is just a hobby). I was trying to find a good way to have two or more devices to communicate back and forth to each other wireless. (Example: device one sends command to device two to activate relay, device two respnds back that relay has been turned on.) I had thought about using just a RF Transmitter and Receiver, but that is only one way communication, i would have no idea if the second device recieved the command or not. Do you believe I am heading in the right direction?

I have looked at the XBee Module, but hoping to find something a little cheaper.

manuka

Cooldude4u2no(Phew!): Welcome-you've certainly come to the right place,since PICAXES & cheap wireless data modules are absolutely made for each other. What sort of ranges & data rates did you have in mind? As the humble PICAXE-08M even has commands to handle IR data you may even be able to use infrared for simple switching!

Simplex 433 MHz TX/RX approaches can be as low as just a few US$ each end, but smarter options using transceivers may be more like US$30 a pair. Ranges to hundreds of metres/yards are typical, but data rates may be quite low (typically 2400 bps).

This topic has arisen numerous times on the Forum ( come in Manie?) & I've also diverse wireless resources at => www.picaxe.orcon.net.nz

Stan. (New Zealand)

Last edited:

cooldude4u2no

You've certainly come to the right place- PICAXES & 433 MHz wireless data modules are absolutely made for each other. What sort of ranges & data rates did you have in mind? As the humble PICAXE-08M even has commands to handle IR data you may even be able to use IR !