Total Newby

waltsar

I'm completely new to Picaxe. Way back when ... I programmed in Basic, C, and PLC logic - that should give you a clue of how old I am. Right now I have a general question about what Picaxe can do. I have a small starter kit with a 14M2 processor chip with "Revolution" and "AXE117" printed on the PCB. As my first project, I'd like to connect an SPDT switch to the input which would select 2 different values. Each value would cause the Picaxe to generate a specific PWM duty cycle output. Also, I'd like to be able to set a ramp time of up to 30-40 seconds when going from one input to the other.

If this sounds like something that Picaxe is capable of doing, please let me know and I'll dig into refreshing my programming chops.

Thank you,
Walt

Aries

The simple answer is "yes". Picaxe can do a great deal - take a look at some of the User Projects to see what has been done. There are also a lot of threads in this forum about using Picaxe for various things. As said above - look at the documentation and the manual for assistance (I learnt all my Picaxe from the manual). For something specific, if you can't find it in the manual (e.g. looking for xxxx), try "Google Picaxe xxxx". The search function on the forum can be useful, but it doesn't allow short words (e.g. PWM).

And finally - this is a friendly and helpful forum, so do come back and ask if there is something you need help with.

Good luck.

Flenser

The search function on the forum can be useful, but it doesn't allow short words (e.g. PWM)
There is a workaround for this issue with the forum search.
Use google search instead specifying the site parameter with picaxeforum.co.uk like this:

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
If this sounds like something that Picaxe is capable of doing, please let me know and I'll dig into refreshing my programming chops.