Switch, trigger and code question

DanoNJ

As I have stated prior, I have no code experience. I can not seem to get a switch and a trigger to work at all.

All in all, the code seems to work for me, that is until I inserted “if __then” statements. The main body will still work, but the switches has no influence on the code.

Here is the lay out:
C.4 will be connected to the main start button. So, I want the system to be dead until that button is pressed. I believe I currently have the pin pulled low until the button is hit.
Currently when I turn on power, the prop will begin to run. The switch has no effect.

Secondly the dump rod does not run at all.

What I need to happen is that a second switch will be triggered to turn off the dump rod.
That switch will be connected to C.3.
Again, currently pulled low.

I used the diagram in Manual 3 for wiring the switches which are micros. I also saw this page which talks about different code to use - http://www.picaxe.com/Circuit-Creator/Switches/Microswitch/

Very confused...

I added a picture of the prop - maybe it will help understand what I'm doing

Thanks so much for the help!
Code:
[color=Navy]#picaxe [/color][color=Black]14m2[/color]

[color=Blue]symbol sugar [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Blue]b.1
symbol stripes [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Blue]b.2
symbol gears [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Blue]b.3
symbol pump [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Blue]b.4
symbol rod [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Blue]b.5

servo b.1[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Navy]150[/color]
[color=Blue]servo b.2[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Navy]150[/color]
[color=Blue]servo b.3[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Navy]150[/color]
[color=Blue]servo b.4[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Navy]149[/color]
[color=Blue]servo b.5[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Navy]150[/color]