Strange download issue

rob53

I'm having a download problem that I can't quite figure out. I have quite a few Picaxe chips, 08M2s, 14M2s and 20M2s of both Through Hole and Surface Mount varieties, and I have the same problem with all of them. I can get them to program, but only after I disconnect, then reconnect the Serial Out pin. I am self taught with only a couple of years experience in hobby electronics and Basic programming, but the circuits and programs I deal with are rudimentary compared to you guys. In trying to apply logic to this situation, I'm thinking the problem may be with my computer's serial port, but I don't have another PC to test that theory. Somehow the serial port and the Picaxe are not able to get a handshake when I click "Program". I use a serial download cable, as I have an older model Dell Dimension 4700 that has a Serial Port. I've tried disconnecting the serial cable and testing continuity, but all three circuits are fine. I always use the standard picaxe download circuit as shown on page 8 of Picaxe Manual 1, whether I'm programming the chip "in-circuit" on the PCB, either with photo-etched homemade boards or professionally made PCBs from the fab house, or programming on a breadboard, for which I made a 3.5mm audio jack breakout using a piece of veroboard and a 5 pin piece of breakaway male header.