Speedo converter basics

Changster

Hi all,
i'm a noob at the programming stuff. I used to be a TV engineer but the programming side is a challenge for me so i'm getting stuck in with this 'simple' project.
I've just accuired a small scooter with a digital speedo but its in kilometers so ive done some testing and the speed input at aprox 70mph is about 2khz from a gearbox VR sensor. I've conditioned the signal into a nice 0-5V pulse which will vary from 0Hz to 2KHz and i would like to put a PICAXE between the sensor and the existing speedo so the kms will read as mph, so i just need to reduce the pulses by 1.61 to 1.
I've looked at the the programming side and i think i need to use counter to collect the pulses and read them into a memory location and then read them out at a slower rate... does this sound feasible? or would an interupt style program be better?
ive got the axe091 breadboard kit using a 18m2 but im guessing a 08m2 will fit the bill too.
your thoughts would much appreciated.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

I think the greatest difficulty will be that you are attempting to do two things in parallel - determining the input frequency / pulse width and generating the output frequency / pulse width - the conversion between the two is possibly the easier part.

The internal timers can be configured in "compare" mode ( by poking SFR's ), and can toggle an output to give a background free-running output and can also reset the timebase clock for that but I don't think they can do both together without intervention by the program. At 2kHz that's a period of 500us which is quite short and I'm not sure how well that could be handled in a PICAXE which is also measuring the input frequency / pulse width. Perhaps two timers can be used together; one toggling the output, the other resetting the timebase clock ?

Another option may be using two PICAXE which allows the output generator more time to do what it needs to do.