Solenoid

kidagain

First of all I have to thank you for the picaxe idea, I'm 42 and I hadn't have that fun since I found Visual Basic. I'm a chemist and I'm completely new to electronics, so forgive me if I don't use the appropriate terminology or have to say What !!! to your answer.

I made my firsts bread boards and I successfully connected my 28X to my computer for both programming and picaxe-computer communication and interaction (what a rush, believe me: The thing did what I requested to) . I connect a couple of LEDs and LDRs and there it was, a light sensor speaking to a computer (by then I was near to a hart attack).

Then came the sorrow: I took the Solenoid project from David Lincon's book, It wasn't that satisfactory but it seems (key word) to work. however I decided to connect all together and I "ironed" my connections project to a copper plate (even that sticker process work nice), but I started to have problems with the program download (part of the 28X software "burned" but it still worked if I reset it as the software says when no connection is found), then the solenoid still seems to work but without the same strength that showed when I connected directly to the 12 v source. Then catastrophe happened with a program, 20000 ms cycle (on/off) of the solenoid. after a while, everything stopped and the 28X was gone. I wonder if the solenoid ground shared with the 28x power ground were the cause, so I intend to complete separate both grounds but nothing happened with the solenoid, not a spark of magnetism. I read some of the solenoid advice request in the forum and it seems to this old fella that probably solenoids weren't that simple to control, please take a look on my schematics and remember I only catch soft balls

The solenoid showed 0.19 Amperes when connected directly to the 12v source

I forgot, the idea is to detect the plunger upper and lower position with the light barriers

The diagram is on
http://tinypic.com/4c094xe.jpg

moxhamj