SMT solder mask

SteveT

I'm fairly new to SMT. Only made less than 10 boards using the frying pan method.

I'm getting a little fed up with using a cocktail stick and a magnifier to apply solder paste to my surface mount boards and was wondering what other people do?

I could get a stencil made commercially, but, I very rarely make more than one of any board and as they cost about 20 odd quid per stencil, a little OTT for me.

I seem to recall hearing of people using something akin to a Craft Robo, which I believe is used for paper cutting ( a bit like a plotter with a knife blade) to make their own stencils. Do any of you use this method?

Has anyone made a CNC DIY version of the above? Is it cost effective? as a Craft Robo costs over 200 quid.

The biggest board I normally make is eurocard size 6"x4" (150mm x 100mm for the young 'uns) but thats for through hole stuff. I would expect SMT boards to be about half that in general.

Or is it just a case of 'grin and bear it'?

regards, Steve

SAborn

I just solder the components using a fine tip on the soldering iron and no solder paste.

I have heard of others etching a solder mask from thin copper sheet, in much the same way to etching a PCB, but i have not done that as yet.

MartinM57

SMT - as in how big/what packages?

1206/0805 resistors caps? - solder directly
SOIC 0.05" pin spacing chips - solder directly

You can also solder TQFP/QFN directly - plenty of examples on the YouTube

bgrabowski

I run an after school robotics club. We use SMT and we need to place and reflow a complete 'home made' PCB of around 60 components in a one hour session. The only way we can fit this in is for the students to use a solder mask to apply the solder paste.