Slow serial baud rates

SignalX

Hi all,
I am really new to these wonderful devices and have been having a great time learning from making the little project boards do things from simple programs in basic.
These days, it seems everyone wants to go faster and faster but is there a way to configure a PICAXE to work at low baud rates.
According to the good book, when programming in basic, the internal serial port can be made to work at 300 baud.
My question is can it be made to run at 110 baud or even 50 baud and if 50 baud is possible, can it have 5 data bits instead of 8?

Cheers,

Moved from Finished Projects. e

Last edited by a moderator:

eclectic

Can you supply a little more detail please?

What's it for? :- Rig / RTTY ...........

e

edit.

See below for Ian's
50 Baud crystal ball. :)

Last edited:

Paix

To convert from ASCII to 8 bit to ITA2 5 unit code, then you would merely select the appropriate codes from the ASCII character set that gave the appropriate ITA2 character, with the last three data bits being at a holding mark polarity and so looking like a rather extended stop bit.

Selecting 8 bits no parity and one stop bit would allow you to use 5 data bits and four stop bits. So best be using 50 baud rather than 45.45 if you are in a hurry . . .

You would need to use a look up table if you wanted to translate between the two. Receiving it and generating it is quite different from displaying it of course.

On the receive side you would be a bit pushed as you are reliant upon the transmitter giving you a sufficient delay between characters as you have at least three bits after reception of of a 5 unit character before the receiver can be ready for the next character.

For a 5 unit telegraph beacon signal it's OK.

srnet

Whether it can be done with standard PICAXE serial in\out commands, I dont know, but Manual2 page 95 has details of custom baud rates.