Sleep or Euthanasia?

TerryFricker

I'm using a Picaxe to trigger a digital camera once an hour. I'm using a DS1307 rtc for the timing reference, and have connected an LCD (non-serial) to display Time and Date, number of shots taken and battery voltage. (the LCD is only for debugging and will be removed in the final project) I'm new to the Picaxe and was quite chuffed to get everything working.

However, problems started when I introduced a 'SLEEP' command. The idea being that the pic wakes up every 50 sec to check if the rtc has changed its hour (minutes=0, in fact). I used SLEEP 50000 - thinking the parameters were u.secs. When I tried to download a correction, I got the 'Hardware not found on COM1' error message. After several more failed attempts, including powering down and up the picaxe board and pc, and trying to send a 'blank' program, I gave up on this 28X, and loaded a 18X. I tested the program successfully - with a SLEEP 20 command. However, when I came to download a modification, I ran into the same download error as before.

To confirm the problem (my stupidity?), I've now killed off a 18A, using a short LED blinking program. Again, download worked until a SLEEP 2 command was introduced.

Any ideas gratefully received. (I'm using the rev-ed picaxe experimenter board)

BeanieBots

Try using the reset button.
While holding down reset, start the download process. Do not release the reset until the download screen looks as if it is about to actually start the download.

Kiwi Bruv

I have the same problem.

I have an 18x and I have to try to download at least 3 times before it'll work. It works consistently on the 3rd or 4th time. I have never had probs before and have no probs with other projects. In fact I concluded it was something to do with the sleep command because I have two boards doing the same thing. The only common factor is they both have the picaxe sleeping for about 50s every minute.

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member