seven segment display driving

deneve

I would be very grateful for some help.

I want to build a circuit that will read heartbeats per minute and feed the average rate per minute to a a set of three seven segment displays. Now although I have a background in electrical engineering I am very new to picaxe work. So for the moment I am just concerned about the simple task of getting the 7 segment display bit together. I read in the picaxe manual(3) p21 that the 4026 twisted ring Johnson (decade) counter will decode to the 7seg display. I think this means that if you clock it 6 times it will give you a "6". on p22 it shows that you can daisy chain them and I presume that this can extend to three seven seg displays. However it might take a bit of time to count up to the required final 3 digits- Hopefully it will be fast enough not to notice. Aternativey I read in the D Lincoln book that the 74hc595 can also do the job by moving bits to the picaxe output port, clocking the 595 for each bit and then finally latching it to make it ready to port to the 7 seg display.

Have I understood this right and if so can anyone suggest which would be the best approach for my application. I do want to work with the 595 because of its i/o expansion capability but before I start breadboarding I would like to know which approach might be best and for what reasons.

Many thanks for any help.

westaust55

Have you tried an actual search on the forum for past similar projects?

have a look at this - exactly what you want
(and titled -"3 digit display using 74HC595"):
http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=13687

If you specifically want to use the 74HC595 to drive the display, its all there and done for you.

There are also chips out there which could achive what you want as specific multidigit/character LED type drivers. The MM5450/5451 is one such example.
http://www.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheets_pdf/M/M/5/4/MM5450.shtml

Out of curiousity, which PICAXE chip are you using?