serial lcd with clock upgrade

grimmjaw

hi

im planning to use Serial lcd with clock upgrade as a timer in my project.unfortunetly i have a problem with the programming (serial connection)

my question is how to set the alarm every 4 hours and also display the current time on the LCD.my confusion is for the display syntax is in a loop but for the alarm is not.(example from the datasheet)how can i combine this two syntax?do i only need to program the alarm ones and then program the picaxe for displaying the current time only?

thanks for the help in advance

p/s:sorry if the question sound stupid ,i'm still new in both picaxe and programming

Last edited:

inglewoodpete

I have to admit I don't fully understand your problem. I don't have an AXE033 or clock upgrade myself but thought that if forum members got a little more information, they might be able to help you.

Are you trying to write to the LCD from the PICAXE while using the LCD as a clock? If so, post your code so we can get a better understanding of the problem. Also, which PICAXE are you using?

westaust55

Grimjaw,

firstly welcome to the PICAXE forum.

You will need to use the AXE033 in i2c comms mode and not serial mode to be able to read the time into the PICAXE.

If you are trying to do something at a regular interval (eg 4 hours as you mention) then in a loop you can check the time and act when the time is reached. Then add the interval time to the current time and go back to comparison mode.

In the Programming Editor, have a look at the datalogger wizard by selecting the option to use the DS1307 RTC for timing and see how it is done there – the wizard will create some code for you to read..

Last edited:

grimmjaw