Serial input via VB.net (2008)

adumas

Hi.. I've gone through several iterations of hair loss... Made some progress, but in some areas I'm moving in large concentric circles. I one VB.net program that correctly receives temperature data that I output - also hyperterminal. So I now the sending out part works.

I have looked and tried debugging Dr Acula's program - and have had a great deal of trouble getting it to work - I'm sure it's something stupid on my part, but I can't figure it out.. I've tried hacking at the buffer statements, but to no avail. (Obviously, the port number has been changed)

My serout command is: serout 6, 9600, ("data", #degrees, #tenthdeg, cr).

Using current Acula program, I only get timeouts and nothing more.. I'm hung up on the array that is being created.. And am wondering if it is requiring more parameters? Or does it matter if the passed parameters are fewer? The program is simple to read, but I'm still new to how the buffers are working and why the data is not outputting...

Moreover, I don't see how to return data back to the picaxe.

If I could get some relief in modifying this code that would be great.

A fully communicating Picaxe would be truly marvelous..

therowes

I tried to modify the code as a start to a control program but couldn't get the buffer bit to work either.
The data I needed to send was only ASCII characters so I adopted the send fixed data length to the 8M. It responded ( when Ready ) with a “Start Transmission” byte followed by the message and “ Transmission ended” byte.

Its only a proof of concept / experiment but does prove a simple ( ! ) program can work.

The down side is the PICAXE has to be permanently waiting for the input command !

In the finish ( still working on ) I’ve a dedicated chip ( 40x1 ) to do just the comms and get the data to / from it by making it a I2C slave

The comments haven't been changed so could be misleading !

Picaxe
setfreq em16
main:
low 1
low 2