Seeking Smoother Robotic Arm Movement

peterclones

I'm new to Picaxe and have built a 3 servo robotic arm with a 08M2. It works fine using a modified version of Erco's code from his 6 servo arm. It moves each servo 1 degree simultaneously with a nice subroutine. However, I'd like each servo to end up at the target, or "goal" as it's called in the code, at the same time for a smoother transition. Has anyone seen such a code here or know how to implement it? I'd imagine it would take a fair bit more complexity and math equations. Here's what I have now in my "move" subroutine for servos 1, 2 and 4:

Code:
move:'                 			move subroutine  move slowly to new goal coordinates
test1:
if servo1=goal1 then test2
if servo1<goal1 then inc servo1
elseif servo1>goal1 then dec servo1
endif
servopos 1,servo1  ' 			finger up down

test2:
if servo2=goal2 then test4
if servo2<goal2 then inc servo2
elseif servo2>goal2 then dec servo2
endif
servopos 2,servo2  ' 			elbow up down

test4:
if servo4=goal4 then test5
if servo4<goal4 then inc servo4
elseif servo4>goal4 then dec servo4
endif
servopos 4,servo4  ' 			shoulder rotate left right
test5:
pause delay
if servo1=goal1 and servo2=goal2 and servo4=goal4 then fin
goto test1          ' 			loop back until motion stops
fin:		        ' 			servos stopped, all goals reached
return

erco

That's some sweet code you have there, peterclones! :) Actually your idea wouldn't be that hard to implement. First, figure what the farthest travel distance is of all your 3 servos, then make a single loop based to inc/dec that servopos. Inside that same loop, inc/dec the other servos proportionally. Give it a shot and come back if you need more help.

BeanieBots

As erco suggests, you will need to calculate the distance (angle) that each servo needs to travel.