reed switch

adumas

I'm a newbie and am having problems configuring 2 chips.

I have configured 2 chips (powered by the same 4.5 power supply).

When a reed switch is activated (connected to an 08m chip) an led goes off and then a signal is sent (via a simple wire) to the second chip (18x chip) where another led flashes.

The goal is to see how one chip can interactively talk to another.

If I don't connect the 08m by the wire, the reed switch & led go off fine. When I connect the wire over to the 18x, then the 08m chip will no longer fire - and the 18x doesn't light up.

Do I have the programming or the wiring configured correctly?

PICAXE-08M
.--._.--.
--| 1 8 |--
--| 2 7 |--
--| 3 6 |-- positive to reed switch
--| 4 5 |-- led; output wire to pin 6 of picaxe-18x
`-------'

PICAXE-18X

.---._.---.
--| 1 18 |--
--| 2 17 |--
--| 3 16 |--
--| 4 15 |--
--| 5 14 |--
input wire --| 6 13 |--
--| 7 12 |--
--| 8 11 |--
led --| 9 10 |--
`---------'

**********************************************************************************************
PICAXE-08M Program

b1 = 0

main:

readadc 1, b1
if b1 = 4 then flash
goto main

flash:

high 2
pause 50
low 2
pause 50

b1 = 0

pause 50

goto main

**********************************************************************************************

PICAXE-18X

b1 = 0

main:

readadc 6, b1
if b1 = 6 then flash
goto main

flash:
high 2
pause 50
low 2
pause 50

goto main

MORA99

Have you tried with 2 supplies?
If its batteries, maybe they dont have enough power to run both, I had that problem when running both a tx and rx 433mhz radio module and 2 picaxe off the same 3xAA

adumas

Should not be a problem. I have a 12v supply (and have an adjustable power supply / lm317 with caps circuit that converts things down to 4.5)...

But I'll give it a go anyways.

Rickharris

Wouldn't it be easier to read the reed switch as a digital input?
<code><pre><font size=2 face='Courier'>
Start: