receiving data using light/audio?

Mikymike

Hi,

I'm new to picaxe, and don't know a lot about electronic. I can play with simple circuits.

I want to send about 15 different commands (like flash light 1, flash light 2, rotate motor, etc...) to a picaxe using light flash or maybe audio "beep". If I use an audio source, it will be a MP3 player, the left audio track would be connected to (some circuit like peak detector) to the picaxe. I can do a kind of morse or on/off beep code and the picaxe will react to the command.

If I use a light source, it would be from a portable dvd player, I can encode some colors or white/black spots at the bottom of the video, and these flash change of color or luminosity would tell to the picaxe witch command to execute.

Using the light source, I tried to point a photoresistor at the video spot that turn on and off, but the changing of the value from dark to light from the sensor is not fast enough. It take one to two second to react.

Using the audio, I build a peak detector using a LM324, to trigger the picaxe input pin on and off.

My problem at this point is the speed. The audio method is faster but I don't know how to enhance the circuit or my code, so I can have all the possible commands needed on a single pin (or maybe two).

Right now I try to send some beep and count them, so if for exemple the picaxe receive 3 beep in x delay, it's a command, if the picaxe receive 4 beep in the x delay, it's an other command. But I'm afraid that at some point I will get some error (like missing a beep and so on).

The video solution could be better because If I find a way to speed it up.

The purpose of all this is to have a robot that interact with an audio or video source.

Using an audio source the robot would "listen" to the audio source, the right channel is output throw a speaker, the left channel is use to control the mouth movement following the speech, open eyes, close eyes, blink, move arm, turn hand, and so on.