Reading VOLTAGE?

RogerTango

I am still new to the PICAXE (OMG, where have I been? I just now discovered them! They have been around for a long time!), I got two 14M chips from SparkFun, and boy... Im having a blast!

Ive already dreamed up two dozen projects I can build with them!

One thing Id like to do, is build a battery voltage minder. I want to be able to read the voltage of the battery using the 14M chip.

One thing though.. Ive go not clue how to do that!

Can someone advance of what I need to interface say a car battery to a 14M chip and read the voltage, including a short snippit of BASIC code?

Many thanks!!
Andrew

BeanieBots

There are several things you need to know first.
The first is that any PICAXE input can only cope with a voltage which is equal or less than its power supply voltage.
A typical PICAXE would be 5v, so to measure a 12v car battery, you will need a potential divider (or something more complex) to bring it down to 5v.

The second VERY important thing to know is that the PICAXE uses its own power supply as a reference against which it measures voltages. That means that any reading you take will be a function of whatever voltage your PICAXE is driven at.

To read a voltage on a pin in software, have a read of the command "ReadADC".

There's a few more things which can catch you out, but have a read and then think about it all for a while. If you have any more questions, then ask away.

Dippy

"Can someone advance of what I need to interface say a car battery to a 14M chip and read the voltage, including a short snippit of BASIC code?"

- yes, if you are more specific.

As BB has said, the PICAXE will require a fixed (e.g.) 5V supply.
This 'interface'; Is the PICAXE to be powered by the 12V car battery in addition to reading it's voltage? Or will it have a separate supply.

Will the battery every be connected to a car's charging circuit while the PICAXE is conencted to it?

As BB has said, the PICAXE volt supply should be rock-steady.