Reading Voltage Value to Picaxe

bbrrww

Hi, I am an a-level electronics student and i'm a little stuck on my project...

I have been trying to read the value of a varying voltage on a adc pin of my picaxe to a variable (lable?) using the readadc function but i haven't got it to work as yet.

Any help or suggestions would be really appreciated,

Cheers, Oliver

BeanieBots

Well, the command line is simple enough.
ReadADC pin#,var
So what exactly doesn't work?

How fast and over what range is "varying".
What are you expecting to see and what are you actually getting?

It would probably also be useful to know which PICAXE you are using.

womai

Also, please post the code that you have so far, state which Picaxe you are using (08M or other?), along with a description of what signal exactly you are trying to measure, and if possible a schematic sketch of your hookuo (or even better, use a digital camera to snap a picture!). Debugging code is incomparably easier when actually seeing it, and the same goes for the hardware ;)

Wolfgang

jglenn

I am playing around with my P. Anderson 18X protoboard, would love to see a sample of how to input an 8 bit pot value, and monitor with with a serial output to the screen, is there a debug mode that will work in real time? Just starting to use the programming software, only blinked a LED so far.

BeanieBots

simple enough, especially if you read the manual.

main:
readadc 1,b0
sertxd b0 'send value to terminal screen
debug 'see all variables in editor
goto main 'keep reading and displaying

jglenn