Reacting to a change in distance.

LimeTree.

The dream

I have a machine that guides wire onto a reel, to do this it needs a tension arm which is controlled by slowing down or speeding up a motor.

My idea is to automize this.

My reason for this post is that I have no background in electrical engineering and im doing this as a little project. So, just looking for some reassurance!

Solution?
I aim to do this by having a PICAXE 28x1 send a 'trigger' signal to the SRF05 Ultrasonic sensor to send out a signal to this tension arm and then when the signal bounces back for it to send an "echo signal" to the PICAXE and from this calculate the distance the arm is away from the sensor (if we know the miliseconds it takes for this signal to return, then we can calculate the distance). Once the distance is found the program on the PICAXE should then send a signal to a digital potentiometer (MCP4011) which will then either lower the voltage or increase it, thus changing the speed of the motor.

Below is a picture of the basic circuit design... I apoligise for the poor quality, but unfortunately i have no current access to any circuit imaging software like PCB wizard etc

The standard potentiometer (bottom left corner) is what is currently used to control the motor. Im assuming I can just hook the MCP4011 straight upto the inlets and outlets of the standard one?

Does it look like a resonable idea? Have I made any gaping mistakes?

Your feedback is much appreciated, thank you!

~Luke

Oh.. Once I've got this working and tweaked it a bit i'll make everything opensource for anyone to use should they so wish. :)

Last edited:

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

It sounds possible but it may be a little complicated and more difficult to use in practice than alternatives.