RC servo command inputs to 28X1

Helidesigner

Hello, I'm new to microcontrollers and to the PICAXE forum. I'm working on a programable mixing unit for an RC helicopter. I'm having trouble getting PWM inputs into the 28X1. I am able to drive servos per the instructions that came with the servo upgrade kit. I looked at code posted at DIYRC (the straight thru subroutine) but it does not seem to work. I think I'm connecting the ground and signal wire to the proper input. If I periodically attach and detach the input the servo centers and then moves respectively. It does not do that if I touch any other input. I have read through various threads but can not find exactly the answer I'm looking for. I have picked up on something about timing of the pulse widths. What do I have to do to read in the channels from a Futaba reciever?

Thanks in advance,
Helidesigner

BeanieBots

Welcome to the forum.
Start simple.
For a basic feedthrough try this.

do
pulsin 1,b0
pulsout 1,b0
loop

The pulsin will wait for each pulse and hence the pulsout will automatically be at the correct frame rate.
You need to connect the 0v of the radio reciever to the 0v of the PICAXE and the signal wire of the desired channel to input 1 (leg 3).

Once you have that working you can then look at adding extra channels and doing the mixing. Also have a look at the servopos command which needs to be used for rapid servo position updates.

I'm a little concerned about delays you might experience (and safety issues). In a helicopter these will be much more noticeable than anything land based.

Out of curiousity, which helicopter and what's you flying level?

Helidesigner