RC Car

shinds

I have been tasked with producing a remote control for project for my apprenticeship. It needs to move forwards and backwards and turn left and right, remotely. simple enough?

looking at using a picaxe setup but i am completely new to this.

i understand all the different outputs and the use of the binary code.

but I am stuck on the input data. How will my receiver talk to the microcontroller, is it capabably of transforming the rf signal into a a usable output? How? are there any additional componants i will need?

Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks

BeanieBots

Welcome to the forum.

How will my receiver talk to the microcontroller, is it capabably of transforming the rf signal into a a usable output? How? are there any additional componants i will need?
Might be a good idea to tell us what you have in the way of radio transmitter and receiver. Then we can advise on how to connect it up.

What type of motors do you have? What current do they draw?
We need to know that to advise on what type of motor driver to use.

boriz

Remote control does not necessarily mean RF. In fact a Picaxe can easily receive IR data from a TV remote style IR transmitter. It would simplify things a great deal. Find the INFRAIN command in the manual.

shinds

i havent bought any items yet, still at the planning stage.

will i be able to control the speed with IR aswell?

BeanieBots

You could use IR to control speed but the response might be a little slow.
IR control would need to send a 'command', so you could either send a specific speed or an instruction to increase speed.
The former would require a 'button' for each speed, for the latter, you would need to decide by how much the speed is to increase by for each button press.

Not sure if there would be "interaction" between PWMout (required for speed control) and receiving IR signals. Never tried it.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)