Radio control

Rickharris

Hi,

I would like to pass this through the forum intelligence/experience filter -

I have come by a 6 channel Radio control unit - Esky 0406A - I can supply links to pictures/info if you need.

This is intended for light weight helicopter use and so mixes the channels in the transmitter.

the previous owner was under the impression (from the wonder web) that it has a set of dip switches inside to turn this channel mixing off.

It hasn't.

So it isn't any use to him to fly his foam plastic wonder aerobatic model.

I generously offered to take it off his hands and intend (bold statement there) to hack the circuit to replace the coding section which is a 20 pin SM pic micro of undetermined type (numbers removed by Chinese manufacture if it even had any)

I am no RC expert or even faintly familiar and so after some research I have come up with the following:

I understand to get 4 channels I need to produce 4 pulse between 1 and 2 milli seconds wide. Followed by a sync pulse of approx 8 milli sec

This needs to be sent at a frame rate of about 20 milli secs. i.e 5 times a second.

So as I am uncertain how servo out works as I need to make a pulse train of 4 pulses one for each channel depending on the position of the control pots I decided to use pulsout and have come up with the code below.

Code:
'picaxe 20
'gives pulse train between 1ms and 2.27ms
'200 micro sec inter channel break
'4 channels - 0 to 5v input to ADC.
'frame rate max 17ms
'min 13 ms

Start:

'ch1
readadc 1,b1
b1=b1/2        'divide 0 to 255 ADC reading to approx 100 steps (127)
b1=b1+100        'adds 100 to give correct pulsout time valuse for 10 micro sec units

'ch2
readadc 2,b2
b2=b2/2
b2=b2+100

'ch3
readadc 3,b3
b3=b3/2
b3=b3+100

'ch4
readadc 7,b4
b4=b4/2
b4=b4+100

'send pulse stream out
pulsout 1,b1
pulsout 1,20
pulsout 1,b2
pulsout 1,20
pulsout 1,b3
pulsout 1,20
pulsout 1,b4
pulsout 1,800  'sync pulse
goto start

'goes to FM  modulator