question about "For Next" loops

rob53

Hi folks, I'm still a rookie at this programming business. I have no formal training and I'm trying to teach myself, but I need a little help from you experts from time to time.

I'm writing a program to simulate random behavior for 10 blinking LEDs. I'm using for-next loops to have an LED blink a certain number of times, then pause, then blink at a different rate for a number of times, then pause....etc etc.

It says in the picaxe manual "For...next loops can be nested 8 deep", does that mean I can only use the for..next command 8 times in my entire program, or only 8 times under one label? What do they mean by "nested 8 deep"?

I'm probably gonna smack my forehead when I read the answer, so....sorry for the dumb question :eek:

Rick100

What do they mean by "nested 8 deep"?
I'm probably gonna smack my forehead when I read the answer, so....sorry for the dumb question :eek:
Hello rob53,
It's not a dumb question. Nested "for next" loops look like this. They are "for "next" loops inside of other "for next" loops. This example is 4 deep:

Code:
for b0 = 0 to 10
	for b1 = 0 to 10
		for b2 = 0 to 10
			for b3 = 0 to 10
				'do something	
			next b3
		next b2
	next b1
next b0
It's unlikely you will ever exceed the limit.

Good luck,
Rick

rob53

Hi Rick, thank you for explaining that for me, below is a abbreviated example of the code I'm writing. I need to do those for...next loops a bunch of times within a single "start label" to get the random blinking effects I'm looking for. This would not be considered "nesting", and I can do it as many times as I want?

Code:
start0:
       for b0 = 1 to 10
       high B.1
       pause 200
       low B.1
       next b0
       pause 1000
           for b1 = 1 to 6
           high B.1
           pause 500
           low B.1
           next b1
           pause 1000
             for b2 = 1 to 4
              high B.1
              pause 200
              low B.1
              next b2