Proper way to extract 12 Bit Bianary from a Word Variable for SPI

sodeaf

Hey Guys

I have been Searching the web for a while now trying to learn how to use a 20x2 with a TLC5940 Chip. I have been able to extract a little info here and there and have something working now. Although I am far off from where I need to be.

Right now I am sending the "12 Bits" the hard way

spiout sclk,ssin,1, (%10000000/8)
spiout sclk,ssin,0, (%0000/4)
spiout sclk,ssin,1, (%10000000/8)
spiout sclk,ssin,0, (%0000/4)
and so on for all 16 channels.

It works to set each channel brightness, buy changing the values. I use a binary converter and away we go..

But is there not a better way.. For instance they chip uses 4096 steps of Brightness. I would light to be able to hold the brightness value in the form of a number.. like W1=2562 and W2 = 3695 and so on..
I have been trying silly things to get this to work

spiout sclk,ssin,1, (W2/8) - Don't work
spiout sclk,ssin,0, (w2/4) - Don't work

I am a newbie, and have been reading a lot about this.. as well on binary.. Any help in the right direction would be great,

The TLC 5490 has been discussed before and I have read every post on them several times, which has been helpful.. But I wanna try to figure a different way around this silly chip..

Thanks

Steve

PaulRB

Hi Steve. It does look slightly tricky, but here's some hints:

The 'mode' parameter for spiout should always be 1 for the 5940 chip.

W0 is equivalent to B0 (least significant byte) and B1 (most significant).

The 4 bits you then want to send from B1 need to be in positions 4 to 7, rather than 0 to 3 where they start out. Use the << 4 function on B1 to fix this.

Then you can send B1 (4 bits) followed by B0 (8 bits).

Paul

westaust55

plus you can incorporate the byte bytes os data into a single SPIOUT statement:

spiout sclk, ssin, MSBFirst_L, (%10000000/8, %00000000/4) ; MSBFirst_L is predefined in the PE and is more "readable"/understandable at a later date

or