'pressing' a button with picaxe

dsvilko

Hi! I'm new to both this forum and picaxe.
I am trying to interface a 08M with a few push-buttons used as input of some other (unknown) microcontroler. I have measured the voltage over the button contacts to be 3.15V. I am guessing that I could always use a transistor connected to one of the picaxe outputs to close the switch but as I am fresh out of transistors could I use a resistor and a diode to connect the microcontroller (normally high) side of the switch directly to the picaxe output:

picaxe ---|<----|10k|----- mC

and then set the output low to trigger a button press? Am I right in assuming that the diode should protect the mC while the picaxe output is high (5V power supply)?
I do apologize for asking such a trivial question.

tjetson

You could probably run the 08M at 3 volts to begin with. Then there's no need to muck about with voltage levels etc.

dsvilko

You could probably run the 08M at 3 volts to begin with. Then there's no need to muck about with voltage levels etc.
Thanks for the reply but it's much more convenient for me to power the picaxe directly from the 4xAA.
Can someone confirm that connecting the picaxe directly to the button's positive terminal (mC side) through resistor and diode is completely safe? I am guessing that connecting it through 10k resistor and a transistor (mC on the collector) is safe? Both mC and picaxe have a common ground.

westaust55

Are the 4 AA cell powering the "other (unknown) microcontroller" ?

If so then how does it get to 3.15V on the contacts?

You could just tap off at 2 AA cels for the 08M ? = ~3.0V with "fresh" batteries

A LP2950ACZ-3.0 from say www.futurlec.com.au or www.futurlec.com or other sources would power the 08M from the 4 AA directly.