Picaxe with Digital Potentiometer

joe paul

Hi Folks,

Just a simple question. Any examples of using the 18M2 chip with the MCP4021 chip? Some sample code and wiring diagram?

Many thanks! (Trying to decide if I am up to tackle this type of project)

Take care, Joe.

joe paul

Hi Premelec,

I thought, perhaps, the code would be easier to write. The project I want to duplicate is with the MCP41050 chip.
I want to do something very similar to what is in this video:

[video]https://youtu.be/j0ryTW02KPw[/video]

However, with an Android remote control app that I have used before with the 18M2 and the Bluetooth transceiver HC-06. I have some experience with that Lionel controller and would buy another to experiment with. The app will send out 0-255 with its slider touch screen function, if that helps. I am very rusty with my BASIC.

In a nutshell, I want to replace the analog pot in the Lionel controller with a digital pot that connects simply to the 18M2. The 18M2 will get serial from the HC-06 transceiver. The Android Bluetooth tablet will be the wireless remote.

Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Take care, Joe.

Last edited:

premelec

I haven't got the time to look at it all in detail - but yes if the DP you mention will be handling low power / voltage signal you can use two 18M2 pins one for step up on pot tap one for step down with PULSOUT. The usual cautions about thorough reading of the data sheet and common grounds bypasses etc apply.

I presume the DP starts set at zero or center or something when you turn it on - look at datasheet. Another approach is to use an LED with PWM signal on it shining onto an LDR whose resistance will change with the LED brightness... a lot depends on the ranges of resistance you need etc...

Last edited:

joe paul

Hi Premelec,