Picaxe to control a pololu servo board

Pat13

I am a total newb but I am fascinated by the possibilities of the picaxe for my purposes, which is Halloween props. I can follow a schematic and understand the basics of electronic components. I pore over the 3 picaxe manuals, especially manual 2 but it is the "language" of the picaxe that I am stuggling with.
Here is what I am trying to do:
I have a witch prop with a 3 axis servo neck (driven by the pololu micro maestro http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1350 )The maestro has a tx and an rx line, as well as the ability to use a contact switch.
My question is, what code do I use thru the RX to turn the maestro on/off? Or should i just switch it using the other input
I may be trying to run before i can walk, but i figure I've got a few months til Halloween to figure it out lol!

Marcwolf

Hi there Pat13
Just need some clarification of your understanding of 'turnng the Maestro Off'

Are you wanting to actually power down the servo to save power, or power down the Maestro board to save power.

For 3 servo's you can easily use the PicAxe without any other hardware. Look at the Servo and ServoPos commands. When you want to power down a servo just set that output pin to 0.

If you want to use the Maestro then this link contains the relavant information re controlling the servo.
http://www.pololu.com/docs/0J40/5

Hope this helps
Dave

fritz42_male

I use Picaxe and Polulu (Micro Maestro) on various Halloween stuff.

The Micro Maestro has it's own onboard scripting so you shouldn't need the Picaxe under most circumstances. It will happily accept inputs from PIRs and other sensors.

Exactly what are you trying to do?

Pat13

I use Picaxe and Polulu (Micro Maestro) on various Halloween stuff.

The Micro Maestro has it's own onboard scripting so you shouldn't need the Picaxe under most circumstances. It will happily accept inputs from PIRs and other sensors.

Exactly what are you trying to do?