PICAXE program help

Hi everyone. Newbie here :)

I'm currently studying A2 Electronics, and my teacher is trying to think of ideas for projects. Today he got me to see whether we could use the EPROM memory on a PICAXE-18A for a project. I discovered that it was too impractical, but am wondering if anyone could point out an easier way :)

The idea was as follows :-

To feed in 4 bits serially to the PIC and WRITE this value to an address in the EPROM. Then READ that address and OUTPUT it when necessary.

The problem I found was that the WRITE command needs the user to specify the value to be stored - either a Variable from A-H, or a number from 0 to 255.

As the user will not know what the value of the 4-bit serial input will be, we didnt think the WRITE command would work, and instead it would need an EPIC flowchart considering all possible values. Even only using 2 bits, it would be huge.

So my question is whether anyone can think of a way to write the flowchart more easily, or whether it really is too much for an A2 project.

Btw, we're running the PIC Logicator software on XP Professional on a school database and as stated above, it's a PICAXE-18A.

Many thanks.

Ben

BeanieBots

Welcome to the forum.
I think you've answered your own question.

The problem I found was that the WRITE command needs the user to specify the value to be stored - either a Variable from A-H, or a number from 0 to 255.
If WRITE can use a variable (which it can) then simply make that variable hold the data you want to save. It REALLY IS that simple.

I don't use logicator myself so can't help with the specifics.

Hmm. I think that's the problem. It's NOT as simple as wished. I'm not sure how Logicator accomodates for this option.

I have double Electronics tomorrow morning and will enquire further and report back in the afternoon, but I have a feeling that Logicator will be stubborn :|

But ta anyways :)

Ben

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)