Picaxe Manual PDFs

wapo54001

I have a question regarding the way the three Picaxe manuals are implemented in PDF.

I have both Adobe Reader and Adobe Acrobat Standard, and I've confirmed this behaviour with both of them, at least on my computer:

Each of these two programs has a Preferences page where a variety of options can be set. One of these options is how pages are displayed when selected for view (default zoom). You have a wide range of choices -- Fit Width, Fit Page, Actual Size, Automatic, and a variety of zoom levels in percentages etc.

This setting works for all of my PDF documents EXCEPT The Picaxe Manuals. For these manuals, I have to resize the page to make it big enough to read *each time* I move to a new page. And I've been doing this without thinking much about it ever since I started playing with Picaxes, but today, I was jumping around looking for something and I realized that I was wasting time resizing every single page I went to, and I wondered if this was necessary.

Is this just my computer, or does everyone suffer from the same situation? If everyone has to deal with this, then, Technical, please fix your PDFs so they work like they should -- opening the way that individuals have set their readers to open them!

westaust55

At home, I use Adobe Acrobat Reader 8.1.2 under WinXP -SP3.

I use auto and Fit to Width and in both cases It fills the screen width - usually around 120% size with all pdf files I open including the PICAXE manuals.

At work, again with Adobe Acrobat Reader V???? and WinXP - SP3,
All documents open the same as Fit Page and then I do have to zoom them up to read them.

BCJKiwi

Been using Foxit PDF reader for some time (way faster than Adobe and currently only around 2Mb Download instead of 60 to 80!). Also it doesn't 'phone home' every time you load it. http://www.foxitsoftware.com/downloads/ ~ make sure you get the free version.