PicAxe controlled voltage output required

Simmicht

I need to stun a fish ... ok, let me back up a bit, I have a request from a PHD student who is working with Zebra fish and he needs to provide a stimulation voltage to make the fish do something sciencey ...

Anyway the Picaxe stuff is easy, but what I can not think of is a neat way to provide a voltage that is set by the Picaxe and in the range of 0 to 9V.

I thought I could use a LM317 regulator, but the resistor value needs to be selectable, or under Picaxe control. I thought I could use a digital Potentiometer to set the output voltage of the LM317, but I have not seen one of these for years.

A resistor divider, I think will not provide fine enough control, though I guess with good design I could use all 8 bits of Port B on a 28X2 to provide a 8-bit resolution voltage from 0 to 9V, that would be 9/256 = 40mV each step...hmmmm maybe.

Any ideas guys? Any off the shelf widgets?

I will probably switch the final voltage to the probes via a relay.

Cheers and thanks

Grogster

If all you need to do is vary the voltage between 0v and 9v, I would just use a simple 548 + BD139 or 2055 power transistor in a darlington arrangement in series with the power supply, and vary the output voltage between about 0.6v and 9v with a pot on the base of the 548.

If you wanted accuracy, you could have course and fine pots.

No need to use PICAXE at all for something like that, IF that is what you are trying to do...

If you HAVE to use a PICAXE, then the first thing that comes to mind is PWMOUT driving diode-pump(charge pump) which then has a smoothing cap on the final output - others here will no doubt have some other ideas. :)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charge_pump

These are only good for relatively low current - how much juice does he need to zap the fish with?

EDIT: Put up wrong link - fixed.

Last edited:

Grogster