Picaxe cnc

Greetings,

As a new member of the forum, I do hope this is not "old news"

I have found an excellent project, by a Czech AeroModeller: He has converted a small Proxxon Milling Machine to CNC.
There is nothing particularly unusual in that; BUT he is driving the whole machine from a PICAXE and a VDRIVE2 ... Strictly speaking, [because it is essentially a dumb sequencer] the "local" system is probably more "NC" than "CNC"; but that does not stop me considering it a work of genius.

The system that he has devised would be easily adapted to other machines, such as; PCB Drilling/Routing, Microscope Stage movement, Panoramic Photography, etc.

The original page is in Czech, but Google Translate makes a reasonable job of converting the text to English.

I commend this project to anyone with an interest in using Servos or Stepper Motors [he has used both] ... But, as a novice, I would be grateful for comment from the forum's experts.

MichaelG.

Last edited:

Roman505

That looks more like a Proxxon hand-held tool on an MB140 stand than a milling machine, like using a Dremel on a drill press. I can see that what looks like the KT-70 X-Y table has been added to give mill-like functions. I admire the work on automating the product but a mill, this ain't.

That looks more like a Proxxon hand-held tool on an MB140 stand than a milling machine, like using a Dremel on a drill press. I can see that what looks like the KT-70 X-Y table has been added to give mill-like functions. I admire the work on automating the product but a mill, this ain't.
Quite probably ... although it wasn't really the Proxxon hardware that interested me.

MichaelG.

Roman505