Picaxe based Li-Ion charger

Pauly1980

Hi everyone, im new to these forums and am really excited about them already.

I am thinking about trying to construct a Li-Ion battery charger based on a picaxe chip. I have done some searching in these forums but have been unable to find any projects like this. My questions are
a)has anyone done this already?? no point going through the whole design phase if its been done already.

b)can anyone give me any advice if the answer to question a is no?

I look forward to getting really involved in these forums.

Paul

slimplynth

Hi Paul welcome to the forum, a Li-Ion charger sounds like it might be a dangerous first project. My status says senior member but in reality I still consider myself a complete newb, maybe explains my nervous feeling when thinking about attempting a Li-Ion charger and apologies if you're well versed in electronics... is this your first project? The other forum members will no doubt also ask this before offering advice.

Pauly1980

This was going to be my first picaxe project, and to be honest I didnt think it would be that complicated... But I will take advice from you both and maybe try some simpler things first.

I am making my own LED scuba diving lights now and am getting sick of having to buy buck drivers to run them when the drivers never seem to be exactly what I want. I may have a go at one of those first.

I have some experience in electronics but I wouldnt say a lot. Most of it is outdated now but I am always happy to learn new things.

Paul

BeanieBots

Have to be honest that I'm stunned that you can't find an ideal constant current LED buck driver and at a price lower than you could ever build one yourself.
Plenty to choose from at both RS and Farnel for <£10.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
I think as a first project it's overly ambitious, too many things which could go wrong and with potentially dangerous results.