pic and 48 volt battery bank LVD

celticones

hi there i am new to this world of the pic. SO i wonder if its possible to build a 48 volt lvd circuit to use on a wind turbine battery bank connected to an ups , .It would probarbly cut of at about 48 volt and cut back in at around 50 ,i would need to use a relay on the on and off outputs to operated the switch on the ups..the On relay would need to have a time of about 4 seconds. So is it possible, what pic is suitable? All help is most appreciated thanks.

Rickharris

What exactly do you need the microcontroller to do:

I am guessing:

1 cut off the supply at 48 volts
2 Turn supply back on at 50 volts
3. Control a relay connecting the turbine to the ??/

I don't understand the relay actions - why on for 4 seconds? when I gather you want it to switch at a certain voltage??

I suspect the piceaxe will resolve your problem. Have you read the 3 manuales supplied as PDF files ad available at the top of this page.

Your programming requirements do not sound difficult, involving perhaps as few as time (wait/pause), READADC and High and LOW commands BUT you should have a look to see what is involved youself.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Welcome to the PICAXE Forum.

Almost any PICAXE should be suitable for what you need.

To interface the high voltage to be within the PICAXE limits you should be able to use a simple potential divider and read the voltage using an analogue (ADC) input channel. You may need to add protection to clamp the voltage so it does not rise above the PICAXE limit - that may be possible using simple Zener clamping.

You are dealing with relatively high voltages and presumably high current capabilities so usual safety issues apply, though a PICAXE solution should not have many more issues than using a purely hardware solution.

Dippy

As hippy says, just about any PICAXE should be able to do what you want.
But extra electronics will be required.