OT: Dyson Digital Motors

Jamster

It might just be my lack of experience but it seems this great new breakthrough in motors is just a different style of impellor, and instead of having brushes it has a chip creating an alternating magnetic field for the magnet... :confused: I'm no expert but I'm sure they've both been invented....

There are a few other points:
  • It claims it is 104,000rpm here and 88,000rpm here.
  • It claims that as the carbon brushes wear out on a normal motor this can be bad for the environment, I wouldn't have thought that in that quantity or at the rate in which they do is anything to worry about....
  • It claims the iron core has no windings, then later goes on to say it does...

</rant>

I'm probably wrong but is this just a sales ploy to those that dont know any better? I'll admit there is definatly a difference....

Jamster

Last edited:

JimPerry

Jamster;221404[* said:
It claims it is 104,000rpm here and 88,000rpm here.

I'm probably wrong but is this just a sales ploy to those that dont know any better? I'll admit there is definatly a difference....

Jamster
being pedantic - it can spin at 104k but is used at 88k .. mainly marketing spin at 500k ?

Looks like a Brushless DC Motor - not "Rocket Science" but new for a cleaner. :cool:

Jeremy Harris

Nothing new about these motors at all. Dyson is just up to his favourite trick, disguising a well-known gadget as something "new". He did exactly the same with the cyclone vacuum cleaner, a gadget that had been used in industrial filtration for decades. The "digital" motor in a Dyson is just a simple BLDC motor, nothing fancy at all, and pretty much the same as the sort of motor that electric model aircraft folk have been using for years.