Newbie needs help with first program

chipset

Hi Im a very green newbie and Ive just started trying to do programming so bear with me. I have a good understanding of hardware but the programming is a whole new world that I havent quite got the hang of yet.

Im using an 08m to trigger three transitors that in turn control three relays. I have a Push to make button as a trigger and I need it to do as follows:

STEP 1
Press button

debounce the button

output0 goes hi

STEP 2
press button a second time

debounce the button

output0 stays hi and output1 goes hi

STEP 3

press and HOLD the button a third time

output0 turns off output1 stays hi and output2 goes hi

as soon as the button is released output1 goes hi output1 stays hi and output2 turns off

STEP 4

press the button

debounce the button

all pins turn off

Also if you hold the button for longer than 2 seconds during Steps 1 or 2, I want the program to automatically start Step 3.

Additionally if you press the button twice within 1 second (double click) during steps 1 or 2 I want it to turn off as well.

Now being a newbie this program is hurting my head trying to figure it out and I was hoping maybe someone could help me out with this cause Im going nowhere fast. Other than code for debouncing the button I dont know what else to cut and paste in order to get this going.

Last edited:

chipset

i did some of the walk through ones in the manual but more or less Ive never written a line of code myself. If I look at someones code I understand what it means but I dont know how to write it myself. The best way I can explain it is that Im like someone that can understand a foreign language on a basic level but I cant speak it. Id be the person reading phrases out of a translation book.

chipset

maybe someone can direct me to a tutorial site so I can begin to learn this? I dont know where to start and I figured this project wouldnt be very complicated

lbenson