Newbie input/button query

c7trp

Hi

Bear with me, I'm new to this stuff :)

I'm writing an application that needs to respond to the user holding a push button down for 3 or more seconds.

The program is doing nothing else, except waiting for the key press.

This is the code I'm using
Code:
  Do : Loop Until pin1 = 1               'wait for button press
  wait 3                                      'wait 3 seconds
  if pin1=1 then                            'if its still pressed then...
      do : loop until pin1=0             'wait for button to be released
       'respond to button press event.
  endif
Is this the best way of doing this?

Thanks

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
I'm writing an application that needs to respond to the user holding a push button down for 3 or more seconds.
Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

The code is a good first attempt but it can be fooled. Press the button briefly, wait two seconds then hold it for another one second or longer and it will think the short pushes lasted the whole three seconds.

It's a bit like looking in a room to check someone is there, checking three minutes later and seeing they are still there. That they are doesn't prove they did not leave during those three mintes any number of times.

What you need to do is check more frequently that the button is still pushed and a change in logic will also make the issue clearer to understand and should make things easier to code; "Do whatever if the button has not been released during the three seconds after being first pushed".

c7trp

Thanks All.

Now I know I'm going in the right direction, I'll can re-think the code to accomodate Hippy's observations :eek:

I did look at the button command, but it looks mighty complicated! I was planning to debounce with a capacitor. Also if the button needs to be pushed for 3 seconds or so, then I assume bounce wouldn't be too much of an issue anyway?

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)