New Guy

Simo7007

Hi,
My name is Marc, but most know me a Simo, and I'm from a small village in England. I'm not new to forums, I belong to several. I'm VERY new to this. I have just received my first kit from PICAXE. A, AXE003U PICAXE-08M2 Starter Pack (USB). I have also ordered the Picaxe Microcontroller Project for the Evil Genius book to give me a start as well as a few eBay starter packs too. At the moment I am wanting to build a clock thermometer, I have got most of the stuff I need. I will be on here for tips and help over the next few weeks. So please. Be patience. I'll get there eventually.

Simo7007

Could you recommend a tool kit of what I need? I going to the Derby B&Q next week. I have seen a cheap soldering iron, but what else do I need?

bfgstew

How big is your bank balance.................................;)

Do not, and I repeat do not get a cheap soldering iron! Layout a few more pounds and get an Antex iron, with some spare tips.
Side cutters.
Tweezers
Wire strippers
Multimeter
Oscilliscope
Small set of screwdrivers
Magnifying glass
and lots more to come!
Get the basics and build up as your skills improve.

Stewart

John West

Yep, a good iron (and appropriate tips) does indeed make a difference.

Rosin-core solder for electronics work. Something slightly smaller than .031" is best for small electronics work.
Solder wick braid for removing excess solder and for correcting errors.

The types of each that you use will make a difference in the quality, effectiveness and convenience of your work. You'll have to try them out and see which work best for you.

Jamster

I survive on a basic list of:
Side cutters (or 'Knippers' as we call them in my house :))
Some relatively small long nose pliers
An Antex soldering iron
A variety of screwdrivers we've collected over the years
And a desolder pump