M2 Memory

ac21

I have a 20m2 and writing a program the memory became full at about line 638 and I have exceeded 2048 bytes.. and i have a about 300 or so bytes to go to complete the project.

I was looking to buy a 20x2 or 28x2
but in my research ran into this which is kinda confusing.
under the m2 parts other then 08m2 it says x2...what does this mean?

Hemi345

It means you can use the new feature of the latest PICAXE Program Editor to use slots to essentially double the program space. See:

http://www.picaxe.com/BASIC-Commands/Directives/hash-slot/

and

http://www.picaxe.com/BASIC-Commands/Advanced-PICAXE-Configuration/run/

tony_g

this is a nice new added feature, i have recently been using this alot with 14m2 and 20m2 chips, it allowed me to break my code down between the two slots and run one or the other depending on certain conditions, i dont think i could do without it now lol

jims

I have been using this new PE6 feature extensively for several months on 20m2 chips. It works vey well and allows me to add additional features and embellishments to my controllers. The only caution I can give is to be aware that when using the PE6 simulation in this Beta version you can't use a "run 1", or "run 2" statement (you will get a notice from the Picaxe editor that "Run command is not currently simulated"). However these commands work perfectly on real chips. This is the only limitation that I have found, and it's very easy to do a "work around".
Use of the additional slot is another great feature of PE6. Jims

erco

That's certainly a noteworthy improvement over PE5 and exactly what it will take to get me to download & use PE6. Clearly the potential was in the chip all along, but PE5 wasn't able to access the second memory slot.

ac21

I used up both slots on my 20m2 :(

I read alot of text msgs in the form of:
Code:
            [color=Blue]let [/color][color=Black]LCD1 [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Navy]1