Interpret Wiring Diagram in Picaxe Manual 1

pagoglia

I am new to the picaxe 401 (28x2). I have been trying to build the circuit on page 78 of Manual #1. Since I am rusty on electronics the diagram does not show me enough information to build the circuit. I did change the code upon copy/paste to reflect the use of port A.0 as an analog rather than the C.1, but still no blinking LEDs when I shade and unshade the LDR. Some more info on how to wire it would be of help if someone can post it. I am using a mini breadboard which is mounted on top of a shield, if that is of any assistance.

Thanks,
Paul

eclectic

Welcome to the Forum Paul.

I've moved your post to the Active Forum,
where it will get more exposure.

First quesion for you:
Can you post a hi-res photo of your setup,
so that folks can give you more advice?

e

Jamster

Welcome to the Forum,

It will help us to help you if you post a picture of your current setup so we can see if there are any wiring faults. Also what value LDR are you using?

An easy thing to try is to replace the 10K resistor with a 50K (or similar) potentiometer and try adjusting that to change the sensitivity.
Also prehaps add the line "sertxd(b0)" after the "readadc A.1, b0": this will send the value of the input to the program editor, you can see the value sent by pressing F8 to open the terminal in the PE.

Jamster

SAborn

Or add the word " Debug " after the readadc line of code, then you will see all the variable values, and i think its much better for this application then sertxd.

Just dont use debug in code that requires precise timing loops and dont leave it in your final working code.

nick12ab

Ensure that you have included the pull-down resistor on the download circuit and also the current-limiting resistors on the LEDs.

I am using a mini breadboard which is mounted on top of a shield, if that is of any assistance.
Are you using the PICAXE shield base?

Also prehaps add the line "sertxd(b0)" after the "readadc A.1, b0"