Interfacing with a dual element Pyroelectric Infrared Radial Sensor

Andrew Cowan

I've got a PIR sensor module here, and I'm hoping to interface it with a PICAXE.

Dippy - I hear you're the resident expert on this.

Am I right in thinking that I can just stick a gain op-amp (equivalent to 72.5dB, whatever that is) on the output? I want to feed it into a PICAXE.

If I put a high gain op-amp on the output, will I get a digital signal, or an analogue signal? I've looked at the typical circuit in the datasheet, but I think it has timing, and is more complex than I need.

Many thanks

Andrew

Dippy

I'm no expert but I have used PIRs in designs before.

Actually even dual element PIRs allow you to do direction sensing.
If you viewed the output on a 'scope you see it go up then down or down then up depending on direction - obv you will need some kind of focussing onto element if you want a reasonable range.

If you don't want to follow the suggested circuit you will still have to do something similar. i.e. mixing the output with a biased op-amp so you can see ups and downs i.e. superimposing the output with considerable AC gain onto a DC bias.
(Imagine an AC signal on a DC offset... I like single rail)
Once you've done that you could use a comparator (hardware) method to convert the output to logic and then use PICAXE see whether it did a down before an up or vice versa. Or forget the comparator and use ADC.
Trying to do all that on one op-amp and an ADC will be quite a challenge :)

An op-amp is an op-amp and amplifies analogue, but op-amps can also be congured as comparators... analogue/digital ... ooeerr. So a lot of this depends on you op-amp skills.

But as I haven't used that particular device I'll leave it to the experts who have.
For most people it's time to dig out the breadboard and read up on op-amp applications.

Andrew Cowan

Thanks Dippy.