Importing Manufacturer Spice Models

darbyic

Hi,

I am a complete newbie to PICAXE VSM so my apologies for what may be a rudimentary question for the rest of you.

I have a registered copy of PICAXE VSM and am generally quite excited by the potential that it offers me. However, once I stopped doing the tutorials and started to try my own designs I quickly descovered that quite a lot of the components that I would wish to use do not have SPICE models.

Not to worry it says everywhere that i can add my own and manufacturers such as Texas Instruments make them available for me to download. Now comes the rub... I can not work out how to get my downloaded files in to the application. For example how do I associate the LM339 model downloaded from the TI website please? I have (hopefully) attached the model file in question.

Regards,
Ian

Attachments

darbyic

Sorted - Tutorial Needed

Panic over. I found the other post in this forum with an answer and eventually sorted out my problem from that. However, I must say that as a novice it was less than obvious:

a) How to find the thread with an appropriate answer in.

b) How to actually get this to work in my own situation.

I think that this is a fundamental area of the PICAXE VSM software and am surprised by the lack/obscurity of the help and information that comes with the application.

What this needs is a tutorial creating like the others that come with the software. Once I have got things sorted out completely in my own mind I will attempt to produce something for the community. I can't imagine that I am the only person who has had this problem.

Watch this space. When I am done I will first post it here to get some peer critique and approval.

Regards,
Ian

darbyic

First Draft Tutorial - Associating a SPICE Model File

Hi,