ignoring an input

Shadow1976

Hi guys.
excellent forum. I am new to picaxe and mcu's but i have a little project that i have become stuck with a bit of code that someone here would probably breeze through.
I am trying to create code that would activate an output (say an led) for x amount of time when an input changes state (low to high) but then ignore the high state until it moves from low to high again. Even ignore the high state on startup. I have tried an interrupt but have noticed it will loop if the input is still high causing the output to stay high much like an IF statement.
any info would be great.
I am playing with an alarm for kitchen doors for the little one, a bit of fun.

jims

Hi guys.
excellent forum. I am new to picaxe and mcu's but i have a little project that i have become stuck with a bit of code that someone here would probably breeze through.
I am trying to create code that would activate an output (say an led) for x amount of time when an input changes state (low to high) but then ignore the high state until it moves from low to high again. Even ignore the high state on startup. I have tried an interrupt but have noticed it will loop if the input is still high causing the output to stay high much like an IF statement.
any info would be great.
Would something like this do it??

Attachments

Shadow1976

Hi jim,
yea sort of but i need it to continue to check other inputs and do the same thing. would that be possible? I am kind of stumped.

Hi guys.
any info would be great.
So, making sure I'm understanding right:

When a switch goes high, you want the output to activate for some time then turn off again. You then want the output to remain off, even if the switch is still high, until the switch is first returned to the low state (so like a reset action).