I have so many questions I am a complete newbie!!!

beaniecrocker

Can anyone tell me first off if when I hook a tact switch up to an input does the other end just hook to a ground or does it need to connect to a power source.... The other is a programming issue I just taught myself how to program by reading the manuals in the programming editor for 6 hours between reading and programming at the same time and I was wondering why only 1 output is working on my breadboard and the program is not running off of my switch pin3...here is my prog.

symbol rfbutton = pin3

main:
pause 150
if rfbutton = 0 then rf1
goto main

rf1:
high 1
high 0
pause 22
low 1
low 0
pause 18
high 1
high 0
pause 22
low 1
low 0
pause 18
high 1
high 0
pause 22
low 1
low 0
pause 18
high 1
high 0
pause 22
low 1
low 0
pause 18
if rfbutton = 1 then goto rf2
goto rf1

rf2:
high 1
high 0
pause 100
low 1
low 0
pause 100
if rfbutton = 1 then goto rf3
goto rf2

rf3:
for b0 = 1 to 3
high 1
high 0
pause 50
low 1
pause 50
if rfbutton = 1 then goto main
next b0
goto rf3

end

It works in simulation but when I put it to the breadboard or in use It just doesn't work right

lbenson

A normally off pushbutton switch will be tied to ground with a high-R resistor to prevent transients from triggering it falsely, with the other end tied high.
Code:
        _|_
4.5V ---- ----o---pin3
              |
              -
              -
              |
              0v
Reverse 4.5V and 0V with a normally high switch.

Last edited:

Andrew Cowan

That makes a potential divider. For the resistor, 10K is the most common value, although you can go high (power saving). I don't recommend going lower.

Replace the switch with an analogue sensor (eg light), and you can measure light levels via an ADC input!

A

chigley

A normally off pushbutton switch will be tied to ground with a high-R resistor to prevent transients from triggering it falsely, with the other end tied high.

[...]