How to use the MLX90614ESF-AAA TO-39 Temperature sensor?

henriksod

Hello, I am making a robot that will be able to detect objects (lifeforms) from a distance based on the heat they emit. I have bought a MLX90614ESF-AAA (TO-39), which, as described by the vendor, should be able to do the task that I am after.

This is where I bought it from. Including some description and preferences of the component:
https://www.elfa.se/elfa3~se_sv/elfa/init.do?item=73-215-65&toc=19605

I didn't get a manual of any sort on how it is used, so I came here to ask you guys; how is the component used in terms of programming and using it on a picaxe and what are the possibilities with this component in terms of sending the data to the picaxe regarding finding and tracking an object? Also, I would really like to know what is the best wiring solution for this component to the picaxe if I've got a AXE408 Robot Shield and a
AXE401 PICAXE Shield Base?

I'm sorry if I confused anyone. I am really new to this kind of stuff and I actually can't find any guidelines on how to use this component anywhere whatsoever.

EDIT #1: I've found a document describing the sensor. Maybe it can help you to help me. What I want to know is how I should program this on a picaxe so the picaxe can use the data recieved by the sensor.
https://www1.elfa.se/data1/wwwroot/assets/datasheets/suMELEXIS_IR-tempsensor_EN.pdf

EDIT #2:
It's a temperature sensor, there is no spatial information in the output. Given that you are mounting on a robot, you could make the platform swing around to search what direction the strongest signal is. Unfortunately there's no meaningful "signal strength" output either, you get a temperature. So you could swing around to determine where maximum temperature is, as an approximation of the direction of your target.

These sensors can be used in multiple, have you considered an array of two/three/four to give you a sense of direction with less scanning?