How to use 433 as dumb ends

Hi There

Firstly, I am a plant mechanic. Secondly, I am truly discovering the joys of the 'Axe, very cool indeed, and easy to program. I am designing a TX - RX that will allow me to send either of ten timer commands (e.g high 7 secs low 12 secs - high 7 seconds then reset) to the RX. so far I have managed to program a 18x to take a 10k pot to give me 10 sequences (simple... I know, but extremely satisfying). I now want to output this (wireless) to a unit that will fire up a 12v relay to control some air solenoids. Range is about 50 MTS OMNI DIRECTIONAL so I don't think it can be IR. I ahve read hippy's page (BTW, its very well written) I am looking for help but... If you think I am going about this the wrong way, please give me a better solution.

This is so much fun and much cheaper and safer than my last hobby.

Cheers

eclectic

Chris. A few points.
Firstly, how “Mission critical” or “Safety critical” is this project?

Then, have a look at Stan Swan's repeater arrangement;

http://www.picaxe.orcon.net.nz/all3.jpg

50 metres is possibly marginal for reliable reception, depending on site layout.

Finally, could you provide more information on your proposed layout, hardware
and any potential sources of RFI.

There are a lot of radio experts on this forum, (not me), who can provide help,
when your requirements are more precisely defined.

e.

Thanks eclectic

The circit is for some target turners, 4 to 165 second exposures(low) and 7 seconds(high) at the beginning and end. It is critical that the serial completes. I intend to use it for competition. BTW it is an open area, wth maybe a person betwen the RX and TX.

I wanted to put all of it in a small jiffy box with a selector pot, as I need to pre set the time and then start it (which I have done sucessfully) with a led on the board, now I must look at wireless options.